APA's National Planning Awards honor planning efforts, initiatives and individuals working to make communities of lasting value for all. Award recipients are celebrated annually at APA's National Planning Conference during a special luncheon.

2018 Award Nominations

The deadline to submit a nomination has passed.

The window for the 2018 award nominations was open August 16–September 8, 2017.

All award nominations must be submitted through the online nomination portal. Access to the portal will only be available when the nomination window is open. Follow these steps to prepare and submit your award nomination:

  1. See what is eligible to nominate

  2. Review the categories and criteria

  3. Learn what is required for your nomination

Tips for Nominating

Hear from Awards Jury Chair W. Shedrick Coleman, AIA, on how to assemble a successful awards nomination.

View previous award recipients


Questions about submitting a nomination, email awards@planning.org.