Advanced Specialty Certification

Just as doctors need to demonstrate their expertise and knowledge within specialized fields of medicine, so do planners in specialized fields of planning. This is what the Advanced Specialty Certification program does. AICP's advanced specialty certifications recognizes certified planners for their expertise and leadership in their chosen specialization. No additional membership dues are paid by members holding these certifications.

The three advanced certifications are:

2018 ASC Exams

Application Window Opens December 1, 2017, 9:00 a.m. CT
Final Application Deadline January 25, 2018, 5:00 p.m. CT
Registration Deadline April 27, 2018, 5:00 p.m. CT
Testing Window May 14–28, 2018

About Advanced Specialty Certification

Hiring an AICP CEP, AICP CTP, or AICP CUD planner can ensure that services are being provided by a professional who demonstrates a commitment to professionalism and ethical conduct, continuing education, and proper training.

Those considering an ASC credential must:

  • Be AICP-credentialed planners who have fulfilled voluntary requirements for certification by the American Institute of Certified Planners, APA's Professional Institute
  • Be recognized as members in good standing
  • Have demonstrated at least eight years of work experience in their fields
  • Have passed a rigorous exam

ASC Exam Candidate Bulletin

Your complete guide to earning an ASC credential. Get full details on: exam qualifications, application process, exam fees, test appointments, preparation, transfers and cancellations.

Test Development Process

APA's ASC exams were developed in conjunction with Prometric. Get an overview on the proven test development process that guided creation of the exams.

Certification Maintenance

AICP members who become AICP CEP, AICP CTP, or AICP CUD must comply with AICP's Certification Maintenance requirements and remain members of the Institute to maintain the credential.

  • A minimum of 10 of the 32 CM required credits per reporting period must be on the topic of transportation, environmental planning, or urban design.
  • Credits may be self-reported (limit of 8) or earned through a registered CM provider and must be recorded in the member's personal CM log.
  • Training should be at an advanced level but will not be uniquely approved or identified as such on the AICP CM Calendar. Each member is responsible for determining the level of training that is appropriate for his or her particular situation.

ASC adds credibility to a planner's qualifications. An ASC planner understands the science behind policy and has the knowledge to develop creative approaches to balancing economic and environmental conditions, population, and quality of life.

I highly recommend ASC to other urban planners and environmental planners. Planners need to ensure that city plans reflect concepts for sustainability and preservation of environmental quality. ASC provides an additional level of credibility to the role of the City Planner in the development process.

—Lori Trottier, AICP CEP

The CTP credential separates you from the pack. It demonstrates your knowledge and commitment to your specialty field. Planners should pursue advanced specialty certification if they are committed to their practice. For someone who has the passion and motivation to be an industry leader, absolutely yes!

—Catherine LaFata, AICP CTP

Advanced Specialty Certification offers the public a greater level of confidence when selecting or working with a planner by helping to ensure a specific area of expertise.

I strongly recommend Advanced Specialty Certification as a way of continuing to demonstrate a planner's skills and competence as the fields of planning and design become increasingly more complex.

—Jonathan Henney, AICP CUD

AICP Members Who Earned ASC Designation in May 2016

AICP Certified Environmental Planner

John Joseph Guenther, AICP CEP
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, CANADA

Kevin T. Hughes, AICP CEP
Anza, California

Larissa Larsen, AICP CEP
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Patrick M. Marchman, AICP CEP
East Lansing, Michigan

Laurence Miner, AICP CEP
Santa Monica, California

Maureen Paz De Araujo, AICP CEP CTP
Colorado Springs, Colorado

Patty Waidelich Riley, AICP CEP CTP
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania

AICP Certified Transportation Planner

David Ausherman, AICP CTP
Orland, Florida

Matthew Herman, AICP CTP
Longview, Washington

Carlos Hernandez, AICP CTP
Louisville, Colorado

Darrell L. Howard, AICP CTP
Helena, Alabama

Lawrence J. Kirch, AICP CTP
Scottsdale, Arizona

Anamika Laad, AICP CTP
Raleigh, North Carolina

Calvin Cam Nelson, AICP CTP
Calgary, Alberta, CANADA

Chester Andrew Parsons, AICP CTP
Morgantown, West Virginia

AICP Certified Urban Designer

Cynthia J. Albright, AICP CUD
Reno, Nevada

Kevin Chavous, AICP CUD
Abington, Pennsylvania

Ignacio Correa-Ortiz, AICP CUD
Denver, Colorado

Peter Andrew Flinker, AICP CEP CUD
Ashfield, Massachusetts

Robert P. Franke, AICP CUD
Plantation, Florida

Fred Heyer, AICP CUD
Colts Neck, New Jersey

Michael Kowski, Jr., AICP CUD
Orland Park, Illinois

Gerhard B. Pagenstecher, AICP CUD
Portland, Oregon

Shawn Schaefer, AICP CUD
Tulsa, Oklahoma

Claire Witter-Hempel, AICP CUD
Austin, Texas

Kuei-Kang Wu, AICP CUD
Hallandale Beach, Florida

San Clemente, California